A dish that benefits from a night in the fridge

Breakfast

Toast with jam, pineapple

Lunch

‘Creamy’ courgette and cumin (as a cold salad), mini pitta breads, apple, vegan chocolate

This dish was even better cold than hot, as the flavours had developed in the fridge overnight. Eaten with a couple more mini pitta breads, it made a really satisfying lunch. This is obviously one of those survivor dishes that tastes even better the next day, unlike Monday’s beetroot risotto which definitely wasn’t quite the same after spending the night in a fridge that is very efficient (and maybe even slightly over enthusiastic). I would suggest getting the salad out of  the fridge a little while before you eat it though, otherwise the taste may be dulled by the cold.

Dinner

Watercress, beetroot and sultana salad, mini pitta breads with home made gungo pea hummus

Dessert: raspberries with brown sugar, biscuits

004

This was the same salad I made the other day. It’s hopefully packed full of goodness as I think beetroot and watercress both get labelled as ‘superfoods’ in Tesco (whatever that actually means)! You basically just need a bowl full of watercress, a smallish beetroot chopped up and good handfuls of nuts and sultanas or cranberries. It’s nice to drizzle a little olive oil over the top.

007

I seem to have been bitten by the home made spreads bug. At the beginning of the week I tried out Sarah’s delicious home made hummus recipe, but today I thought I’d try it with a different type of tinned pulse. My local Sainsbury’s has an impressively large world food section and the gungo peas caught my eye on the Caribbean shelf. I used the same recipe as before, but I think that you may want to use less tahini with the gungo beans (for some reason). Being a bit of a raw garlic wimp, I left this out and substituted it for some parsley.

Ingredients:

– 1 tin of gungo peas, drained

– Juice of 1/2 a lemon

– 1-2 tbsp of tahini

– 3 tbsp of olive oil (though you may want to adjust this depending on how thick you want it)

– 3 cloves of garlic, crushed

– Pinch of salt

Method:

Blend the ingredients together until smooth (or mash with a fork/potato masher and stir with a spoon)

001

I was really excited to find some raspberries being sold for £1 on a street stall. I merrily purchased a punnet, gloating over my great find. Unfortunately though, I think they were cheap with good reason as they had a decidedly odd twang. I have to admit that I ate them anyway, but wouldn’t give them to anyone else and probably wouldn’t make the stall a regular destination. At least they look good in the photo though- you’d never know about their strange taste.

008

Leave a Reply

